Pratical information

General information for entering Hungary

Hungary joined the Schengen Area on December 21, 2007. From that time visas and residence permits issued by one of the Member States are valid also for Hungary, and visas/residence permits issued by Hungarian authorities are as a general rule also valid for the entire Schengen Area.

Holders of passports issued by the countries, entities or territories listed on the following website are granted, under bilateral agreements, visa-free travel to Hungary:

Participants who need a visa to enter Hungary are advised to submit their application to the competent Hungarian mission at least 4 weeks before travelling. Applications should include a proof of registration

Where to submit a visa application?

Uniform visa applications have to be submitted at the representation of Hungary or at the Consulate/Embassy representing Hungary on visa issuance in your country.

Which of the Hungarian consulates are responsible for issuing visa?
a) where the applicants resides legally and has a habitual residence (the applicant is a citizen of the esteemed country or holds a permit that makes a stay longer than 3 months possible – e.g. residence permit)
b) the applicant does not have a habitual residence or right for long term stay but at the moment stays legally there and gave reasons for applying at that consulate. This is not a personal right, it depends on the consulate’s consideration and can only happen for an extremely good cause.

The stay is legal if, according to the third-countries law, the applicant is entitled to stay within the consulate’s authorized area for short stay (e.g. with a visa) or for longer stay (e.g. with residence permit).

If there is no Hungarian mission in the country where the applicant has his/her habitual residence, a Schengen Member State may represent Hungary regarding visa issuance, in the framework of an existing visa representation agreement.

Visas are issued on behalf of Hungary by other Schengen Member States in accordance with visa representation agreements in countries listed on the website at:

Who can submit a visa application?

The application should be submitted personally by the applicant (fingerprints will be collected /exemptions exist for specific categories of applicants).

Important information

1. Application shall be lodged no more than three months before the start of the intended visit.
2. The decision about the admissible applications as a main rule must be made within 15 calendar days counted from the submission. Therefore it is advised to submit the application earlier than 15 calendar days before the planned departure. The consulate does not take any responsibility for delayed submission and for therefore failed travels.
3. The period of examining a visa application may be extended up to a maximum of 30 calendar days, and exceptionally up to a maximum of 60 calendar days in special cases.

Documents needed upon visa applications:

1. Completed visa application form;
2. Travel document with at least two empty pages. The passport should have been issued within the last 10 years.  The passport must be valid for at least 3 months beyond the date on which you intend to leave the Schengen territory.
3. Travel medical insurance (covering emergency medical, hospitalization and repatriation. The minimum cover should be of 30.000 EUR. This insurance must be valid for the entire Schengen area and throughout the duration of the stay)
4. Travel itinerary and hotel reservation
5. Visa fee (60 EUR)

Please note:
• All submitted documents must be in English or in the language of the representing Member State
• An interview may be required at the Embassy or by phone
• You may be asked to provide further information or documentary evidence in addition to the above guideline

Prior consultation:

Under Article 22 of the Regulation (EC) No 810/2009 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 13 July 2009 establishing a Community Code on Visas (Visa Code), a Member State may require the central authorities of other Member States to consult its central authorities during the examination of visa applications lodged by nationals of specific third countries or specific categories of such nationals. The consultation may take up to 10 calendar days which shall be taken into consideration when applying for a visa.

Visa Facilitation

If the country of origin and the EU have signed a visa facilitation agreement further exceptions may be given, e.g.: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Cape Verde, Russian Federation, Ukraine, Serbia, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, FYROM, Montenegro, Moldova. For detailed information concerning these agreements, please contact the competent Hungarian foreign representations in the respective countries. For detailed information concerning these agreements please contact the competent Hungarian foreign representations in the respective countries.


The 3rd Budapest Africa Forum